The Best Drop Biscuits

Once upon a time I decided to make drop biscuits.  I don’t know why I did that instead of sending my hubby on a quick run to the grocery store for a can of dough, but I’m glad I did.  These are delicious, and simple.  Simply delicious.  And good.  And a good excuse to buy honey, which I never buy because it’s so expensive.

I won’t make you wait any longer, or read any more of my silly writing.  I’ll just tell you that I got this recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe and get to the recipe!

The Best Drop Biscuits

 Yield: Makes about 12 biscuits

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (10 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk, chilled (Of course, if you don’t have buttermilk, you can pour a Tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar into your measuring cup and add milk to equal one cup.  I’ve done it both ways. vb)
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted and slightly cooled

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 475 degrees F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment or a silpat liner.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In a 2-cup liquid measure, stir together the chilled buttermilk and melted butter until the butter forms small clumps. Stir the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture with a rubber spatula just until the ingredients are incorporated and the mixture slightly pulls away from the edges of the bowl. (When I use actual buttermilk, I usually end up adding another splash of buttermilk.  The milk plus acid seems to be enough moisture. vb}
  3. Using a greased ¼-cup measure, scoop out mounds of the dough and drop them onto the prepared baking sheet, spacing about 1 ½ inches apart. (At this point, I use a spatula sprayed with cooking spray to gently flatten my biscuits so I don’t have a lot of dark, crispy peaks. vb) Bake the biscuits until the tops are golden brown and crisp, 12 to 14 minutes. Remove from the oven, brush with additional melted butter. Serve warm.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

