Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

I went to the internet last week looking for a certain soup recipe that I had seen several days before.  Unable to find the exact recipe, I opted for one that I found on fortheloveofcooking.net.  It was relatively healthy (read:  no cream) and I was all set to make it, but at the bottom of the post was this tempting link.  I couldn’t help myself.  I’m addicted to creamy soup, so the evening menu was quickly changed.  I did serve the soup with a salad…that counts for something, doesn’t it??  Hopefully my family won’t mention the blue cheese dressing and croutons I added to the salad…

I love this soup, and want to make sure I keep track of the recipe for future cold days.  This is a wonderful, creamy comfort food, and a great way to use rice, which is inexpensive!  Of course, I doubled the recipe for my large family.

Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup:
Recipe  by For the Love of Cooking.net
  • 1 tsp of olive oil
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion
  • 2-3 carrots, diced
  • 2-3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 5 cups of homemade chicken stock (click the link for recipe) {I used bouillon dissolved in water–vb}
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon (I love Herb ox)
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper to taste {Since I used bouillon, I omitted the extra salt–vb}
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 cup cooked chicken breast, diced (more if you like)
  • 1/2 cup long grain white rice
  • 1/2 cup of frozen sweet yellow corn, thawed
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 12 oz can evaporated milk {I only had one can of milk, so used 12 ounces of 2% milk also–vb}

Heat olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add the onion, carrots and celery once hot. Cook until tender, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add the minced garlic and stir constantly for 60 seconds. Add the chicken stock, diced chicken, rice, bouillon, basil, sea salt, black pepper and bay leaf. Cover and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes. Turn the soup up until it boils. Mix the corn starch and evaporated milk thoroughly in a bowl. Add the milk mixture to the boiling soup and stir. Lower the heat and add the corn. Mix thoroughly and simmer for a few more minutes. The soup will thicken as it sits. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

