Food Stamps Thanks, A Guest Post

This was sent to me today by a good friend, whose family is currently receiving food assistance from the state. These are rough thoughts written tonight as the family ate dinner.

Food Stamps Thanks

Thank you tax payers. My family got to eat tonight. They say we’re not responsible enough with the money to eat healthy but my family had chicken, potatoes, & carrots. Sounds healthy to me.

Thank you tax payers. My family got to eat tonight. They say I’m just becoming dependent on the government instead of taking care of myself but I dream toward a day when my paycheck is big enough to buy meat myself. Sounds responsible to me.

Thank you tax payers. My family got to eat tonight. They say me using food stamps causes a decline in education but apparently they don’t see me studying for school- even as a single parent. Sounds like education is a priority to me.

Thank you tax payers. My family got to eat tonight. They say I’m not worth the 72 billion it takes to help people not be hungry but I’m pretty sure the other 30 people waiting 3 hours to eat in the SRS office alongside me were as hungry as my family. Sounds like we’re all valuable and human to me.

Thank you tax payers. My family got to eat tonight. Even though I’m branded as unhealthy, not responsible, uncaring about education, & worthless by a chunk of voters and politicians this election season… At least we ate tonight.

Before you take it away.

2 comments

  1. Carol Lane

    I don’t think for a moment that we should do away with food stamps. I am very glad that families who really need them have them. However, I do know for certain that the fraud and black market sale of food stamps is huge. We need to do so much better in controlling that. I wish I was smart enough to figure out how to get them to those who need them and eliminate the fraud.

Leave a Reply

