Heart Attacks & Chicken Broth

I sure didn’t mean to abandon my blog so early in the game!  I had plans to post a couple of recipes-ones high in flavor while being low-cost.  I had planned another post on hunger prompted by an article I read in the mainstream media.  I had lots of plans, but life had plans for me, too, and blogging wasn’t one of them.  Instead, I was sitting quietly by {exhausted} while my husband gathered material for his blog.  It’s so unlike him to put his desires before mine, but I guess he won the attention-getting contest this time.  😉

Obviously, being an under-forty woman, his heart attack came as a surprise to me, and it took me some time to process.  We’re very fortunate to belong to an awesome faith community that has been there for us in every way, and we’ve been eating especially well these past few days.  We’ve had friends bring meals, flowers, and groceries to our home, which has been a blessing in many ways. {Kids!  Clean the house!  People are bringing food again tonight!!}

One thing I’ve been able to do this past week is spend time learning about the new heart-healthy diet that is imperative for my husband.  Low fat, low sodium, and low sugar because he’s also diabetic.  {Does anyone have an old pizza box??}  One of my biggest concerns has been chicken broth, as silly as that sounds.  I use a lot of chicken broth and chicken bouillon in my cooking.  I knew it was high in sodium, but i had NO idea!  I checked out the low sodium options at the grocery store, but even those are deadly way too high to be healthy.  I mentioned this to my sister, and she quickly shared a recipe for low sodium chicken broth.  I haven’t made it yet, but it’s in the plan for this week.  I just know it’s going to be amazing.  How can it not be?

And just because I know that things disappear from the internet, I’m going to copy it here for safe keeping.

Low Sodium Chicken Broth

  • 3 chicken leg quarters or 1 whole chicken, cut
  • 2 stalks celery, including leaves, cut in large pieces
  • 2 carrots, cut in large pieces
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 thumb sized piece of ginger, chopped
  • 1 tsp black pepper or to taste
  • 10 cups water

Put all ingredients in a large dutch oven or stock pot.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.

Simmer for about one hour.  Remove the chicken and allow to cool.  Remove the meat from the bones and return the bones and skin to the pot.  Save the meat for another recipe.

Allow to simmer for two hours or more.  If you want to have a more concentrated broth, leave the lid off.

When done, strain the vegetables, bones, etc.  Makes approximately 10 cups.

Store in two-cup containers in the freezer, ready to use whenever a recipe calls for chicken broth.

One comment

  1. Kathy

    This sounds GREAT! I think the round Ziplock containers with the screwtop lids would be perfect for this, and I think there were coupons for them last week 🙂

Leave a Reply

