Aunt Grace’s Potato Soup

I’ve recently discovered that I love soup!  I know, you think I’m crazy.  The truth is that I’ve made my own soups the past couple of years, though, and I enjoy them.  A lot!

One soup that I enjoy making for my family is “Aunt Grace’s Potato Soup”.  It’s not healthy, but it’s fast, easy, and oh so yummy!  I double the recipe for our large family, but my kiddos still clean out the pot with ease.  This is simple enough for lunch, yet impressive enough to be served to company with a little fresh garnish.

Here’s the recipe for safe keeping, and to share with you.  Enjoy!

Gourmet Potato Soup

3 cups diced potatoes

1/2 cup diced onion

1/2 cup diced celery

8 oz sour cream with chives

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1 1/2 cups milk

1 Tablespoon flour

1 1/2 cup water

Combine potatoes, celery, onion, water, and bouillon cubes in large saucepan.  Simmer about 20 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.  Add 1 cup milk to hot mixture.  In a large bowl or measuring pitcher, blend sour cream, flour, and remaining milk.  Pour sour cream mixture into potato mixture, and stir over low heat until thickened.

One comment

  1. Rhonda

    I just saw this! And I didn’t have Mom’s recipe, so thank you!!

Leave a Reply

