Thanksgiving Without An Oven

 

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good!
His faithful love endures forever.
Psalm 107:1

Happy Thanksgiving!

I have so, so much to be thankful for.

This will definately be a Thanksgiving to remember in our house.  Earlier this week we discovered that our oven wasn’t working.  Of course, we discovered this after the oldest daughter whipped up a couple dozen pineapple upside down cupcake.  Bummer!!!  I was really looking forward to those!

We quickly discovered that our local stores don’t stock mid grade gas ranges.  Ugh!  I just barely held back the tears as I thought about a Thanksgiving Dinner without an oven.  (This might be a good time to note that two of the four burners had stopped working months ago.)  I knew that we couldn’t afford to take our family of seven out to eat, so I hit Google.  Thanksgiving without an oven….

I started to think I could put a turkey breast in a Crock-Pot.  I have two large ones,  but then I realized that I’d have to find a way to make green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, rolls, and pies without an oven.  I posted a few status updates on Facebook and the suggestions, and offers, started pouring in.

We had an amazing offer of a large, commercial kitchen to use as we pleased.  I was thrilled with the offer and the idea, but I really didn’t want to have to haul my dinner home after cooking somewhere else.  I wanted to be home and comfortable and enjoying my day with family.  We had offers of toaster ovens, slow cookers, and electric roaster pans.

Finally, I decided to cook our turkey in a borrowed roaster pan.  (I had the turkey in the freezer and didn’t want to buy more meat.)  I was given a mashed potato recipe a few years ago when I was trying to learn how to make Easter dinner while at church.  This recipe mashes the potatoes ahead of time, and they cook in a Crock Pot to heat up.  I put those potatoes in one of my Crock Pots.  I found recipes for Green Bean Casserole in the slow cooker.  (Remember my Google search??)  It’s not our usual green bean casserole, but I’m sure it will be fine!  I put creamed corn in another slow cooker, and I can make gravy and (packaged) dressing on the stove.  I have a jello salad made, and bakery rolls that can be heated in the microwave.

Each year we invite my ex-husband to dinner at our house.  It’s his slow cooker that currently holds our mashed potatoes.  We also took advantage of his oven.  Yesterday we made our pie crusts and pumpkin pie filling, and took them to his house. All he had to do is pour the filling into the crust and bake.  He called last night to say that his house smelled amazing.  Yay!  I can’t wait to dig into pumpkin pie!

It’s not our usual Thanksgiving menu, but it’s been fun to figure out how to make things work!

Among that long list of things I have to be thankful for is my family that is rolling with the new menu when they really want the traditional meal, and the husband that brought me chocolate and hugged me when I was at my lowest, and assured me that it would be fine because we’re all together and I am loved.

I hope you’re all having an amazing day filled with family, loved ones, and laughter.  Happy Thanksgiving from all of us!

Leave a Reply

