Chicken & Rice, Just Like Grandma’s

One of my favorite childhood memories is time spent at Grandma’s house.  Out behind her “Pepto Pink” house (Yes, it was the color of Pepto-Bismol.  Really.) she had a strawberry patch about the size of my current back yard.  In the creepy, cinder block basement she had a deep freeze full of ice cream and strawberry jam.  The living room was never without a crystal candy dish full of Andes mints.  Food was always part of the experience at Grandma’s house.  One dish I remember well is chicken and rice, pulled out of the oven after church on Sunday morning.

Several years ago I ran across a Crock Pot recipe for chicken and rice with onion soup sprinkled on top, just like Grandma made it.  I had to try it.  Although it’s one of the most unhealthy dishes I make, it’s also one of our favorites.  Occasionally, comfort food becomes a necessity, right? Unlike Grandma, I use boneless, skinless chicken, but just like her, I often throw this dish in to cook before church on Sunday.  It’s so nice to come home to a cooked casserole, and dinner doesn’t get any easier.  Walk in the door, cook a vegetable, round up the kids, and voilà!

Sunday Chicken & Rice (Slow Cooker)

2 C dry instant rice

10.75 oz. can of cream of chicken soup

10.75 oz. can of cream of mushroom soup

10.75 oz. can of cream of celery soup

½ c butter or margarine

1 soup can water

4-6 chicken breast halves OR 1 cut up chicken

1 pkg dry onion soup mix

Place rice in slow cooker.  Combine canned soups, butter, and water.  Pour half over rice.  Lay chicken over rice, and pour remaining soup mixture over chicken.  Sprinkle with dry onion soup mix.  Cover and cook on low 4-6 hours.

*I always mix the rice with the soup.  If not, it can stick to the crock and be a nightmare to clean up.

**I’d love to give proper credit to the author of this recipe, but I honestly don’t remember where I got it from.  I’ve been making this for at least ten years.  Just know that it’s not an original recipe.  Hardly any of mine are!**

Leave a Reply

