Making Your Own Pie Crust

This post is going to give you a little glimpse into my mind and how it works.  Be careful; it’s a dangerous place to be poking around, really.  And now, you’ve been warned.  And I just used a conjunction to begin a sentence.  Twice.  But it’s ok to do, for dramatic purposes.  That’s what it says here, anyway.  And don’t bother telling me that I’m wrong and sending me your source to back up your opinion, because we all know that we can find whatever we want to find on the internet.

Ok, pie crust.  I learned from my mother how to make the most amazing pie crust in 2007.  My sister was getting married, and her soon-to-be brother-in-law cooked a great brisket meal for the rehearsal dinner.  My mother agreed to make desserts, because that’s what she did best!  I’m pretty sure we made seven pies that day, and they were amazing.  Well, the piece I had was amazing.  I didn’t taste all seven of them.  But as amazing as the pies were, the crust was the easiest thing ever.  Yep, easy pie crust.

I took that great tidbit of cooking information and tucked it away in the back corner of my brain, until Thanksgiving, 2008.  It the first holiday I was responsible for.  My mother was no longer here to plan and cook and feed and clean, and I needed to make Thanksgiving Dinner.  I was quick to put my three teenagers on pie duty, and I sat them down at the table and had them make the same crust my mother and I had made the previous year.  Their pies were amazing!

Fast forward to 2012, and something about pies or recipes or something came up on Facebook, and a former classmate of my husband’s posted his recipe for pie crust that didn’t have to be rolled out.  I actually took a screen shot of his recipe, with plans to compare it to my mother’s recipe at some point.  That point hasn’t come yet, but the sudden urge to make a pie did come last week.

I’m a planner.  I rarely do anything spur of the moment, but this pie was one exception.  I was in the kitchen and had just put dinner in the oven when I decided to use some leftover buttermilk to try my hand at buttermilk pie.  Being me, I grabbed my cell phone, remembering that I had used it to take a screen shot of my friend Brian’s recipe some time ago.  It seemed to be just like mom’s, so I went with it.

In the end, the pie was pretty good, but the crust was great.  Mom’s recipe left me just short of a fluted crust when I use my large pie plate, but Brian’s recipe yields a bit more crust, and left us with a nice fluted edge.  It was light and crisp, just the way I like it.  I’ll now use his recipe as my own.  Thanks, Brian!!

No Roll Pie Crust

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

3 tablespoons flour

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 tablespoons milk

Directions:

Place the flour, sugar, and salt in the pie pan and mix with your fingers until blended.

In a measuring cup, combine the oil and milk and beat with a fork until creamy.  (Don’t tell anyone that I just dumped the milk and oil into a well in the pan.)

Pour all at once over the flour mixture.  

Mix with a fork until the flour mixture is completely moistened.

Pat the dough with your fingers, first up the sides of the plate, then across the bottom.  Flute the edges.  Shell is now ready to be filled.

3 comments

  1. SRK

    I have always made my pie crust from scratch. I can’t imagine using something pre-made. 🙂

  2. We stumbled over here by a different website
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so
    i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web
    page again.

  3. Heather

    I always make my crust too…here’s my recipe from my Grandma Kissinger.

    3c flour
    1.5 cups Crisco (coconut oil works GREAT)
    1tsp salt
    2eggs
    Milk

    Put 2 eggs in measuring cup and fill to 3/4c level with milk. Blend into remaining ingredients with pastry blender and roll out. Makes 4-5 single crusts.

    Tips:
    Use lard instead of Crisco and dough will be thinner and more elastic
    Use coconut oil and crust will be less elastic but VERY flaky and crispy.

Leave a Reply

