Monsters & Prayer

Our little guy is just three years old, with a birthday in July.  He’s never been a great sleeper, and since he got a “big boy bed” about a year ago, he’s spent plenty of time in our bed.  Last night was no exception.  He came in to our room about 2:45 and poked my arm to wake me.  Once I stirred, he asked if he could sleep in our bed because he saw monsters.  I got him settled between us (which means I made husband turn on his side and hang his hiney off the edge of the bed to make room.  I NEED my space!) and was ready to snooze again.

Little B had a different idea, though.  He obviously still needed to process the monsters.  He told me they had red and black eyes, in the shape of circles, on alligators.  I had already told him that I was sorry he saw the monsters, and that they weren’t real, so what else did he need?  I reminded him that he was between mommy and daddy now, and that he was safe.

And then…

I’ve never done a great job of pointing my kids to their Heavenly Father.  I didn’t grow up with family devotions or bedtime prayers.  We prayed before meals, and we went to church, and there were infrequent “God” conversations.  Now, don’t think bad things about my parents.  There are some real “whys” behind the scenes, and I’ve worked through those over the years.  What I haven’t done, though, is do a better job.  In fact, my kids didn’t even go to church for many, many years.

I’m determined to do better for this little guy, though.  It didn’t take me long to think of a Veggie Tales song that was appropriate for the moment, and thanks to Netflix, this song is familiar to him as well.  I quickly reminded him that we learned from Veggie Tales that God is bigger than the Boogie Man, and any monster.  I sang him the song.

You’re welcome!

I quickly followed the catchy chorus with a reminded that we can always pray and ask God for help with anything we need.  I wrapped my arms around him, and prayed.

Dear God,

Brandon had a bad dream, and saw some scary monsters, but we know that You are bigger than any monsters or situations.  Please keep us safe, and give us all a good night’s sleep for the rest of the night.  We thank You, and love You.

Amen.

From that point on, all was quiet in our bed.  Okay, almost all.  Husband did try to move the little guy back to his own bed once, and that didn’t go well, so I scooted over to my edge of the bed, and tried to give them both a little more room.  At one point the little one moved to the opposite end of the bed, with his head between our feet, and I heard husband get in the shower before work, but that’s all I know of the rest of the night.  I even missed husband leaving for work, although I know that he always leans over, tells me he’s heading out, and kisses me.  I had no idea he was gone.

But that’s okay.  We were safe.  God is bigger than the boogie man, or the monsters on TV.

The Lord will keep you from all harm—
    he will watch over your life;   Psalm 121:7, NIV

One comment

  1. Kimberly Middleton

    LOVE this! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

