A Devotional

What a morning!  It’s the first of the month, which is the day I place an order with the Food Bank to stock our church’s food pantry.  It’s also the day the new printable coupons come out.  Since the first falls on a Thursday this month, it’s also “Monday” in my house-the day my husband goes to work after two days off.

Even though my morning started off with a long “to-do” list, I’ve been doing my best to be attentive and enjoy our little guy.  He just turned four last week, and in just two weeks time, he’ll be off to pre-k five mornings a week.  Mornings are my favorite time of the day, and I know they’re limited.  Never again will our days be full of time and care-free. I want to share time with him, but I want more than that.  I want his attention; I want him to desire my attention.  I long for two-way conversation, for teaching moments and lessons learned.

This morning I’ve heard comments like, “I want you to play my game.  I’ll tell you want to do”.  I’ve given our little one warnings about provoking the dog and feeding the dog his food, only to be ignored.  I’ve been disrespected when the things I needed to do where cast aside, and he insisted on doing them HIS way.

Please don’t misunderstand me. We’ve had some great moments, today, but I can’t help but compare my morning with the relationship I have with my Heavenly “parent”.

He loves us so much!  He longs for us to spend time with him, carving out moments in the midst of our busy days.  He wants what’s best for us, and even provides warnings and direction!

1 John 3:1a

See how very much our Father loves us, for he calls us h

His children, and that is what we are!

How many times have I offered to “play the game” with God, but wanted to tell Him how to play?  How many times have I pulled on the sleeve of my God, begging Him to “come on”, only to then disrespect Him and His teachings?  Do I heed the warnings I’m given?  I can only imagine the frustration and disappointment He feels when I behave as a young child.  It must be much like the frustration and disappointment I’ve felt at times while raising my kiddos.

Praise God that He is faithful and loves us!

Psalm 86:14

 But you, O Lord,

are a God of compassion and mercy,

slow to get angry

and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.

Does it get any better than this?

Father, Thank you for your endless love and faithfulness!  As I go through my day, may I show Your love to those I encounter, including my children.  May I learn to be a child that not only seeks Your “attention”, but one that gives you mine, heeding Your warnings and seeking Your will in my life. Amen

One comment

  1. rhonda

    See?!?! Amazing you are, Valerie. Thank you for sharing your heart and wisdom on my lunch hour today. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

