You Say You Want A Revolution?

A friend shared a quote today on Facebook, and I thought it was worth saving, and even sharing.

Mask   noun   \’mask\

  • a cover or partial cover for the face used for disguise; a person wearing a mask : masker
  • something that serves to conceal or disguise : pretense,cloak 
  • something that conceals from view

I have a closet full of masks.  I have several closets full of masks, honestly.  Some of them are good, like the one I wear when I pretend to be ready to enforce the rules and make certain my teenagers are on task.  Who am I kidding??  I have awful follow-through, and hate conflict.  That mask is a necessary one.  Over time, I’ve worn the “I am completely organized and on top of things and never lose important papers” mask.  They say fake it til you make it, right??  (I’m still trying to make it.)  I am definitely guilty of wearing the “everything in my world is perfect!” mask.

For the most part, though, my masks aren’t healthy.  I’ve been working hard over the past few years to take off all of the masks, throw them away, and be authentic, even when it wasn’t pretty.  The results are indescribable!  Not only can the real me shine through, but others are able to reach inside.  Life is good!

Enough about me, though.  The point of this post is to share a quote, and here it is:

“The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can’t be any large-scale revolution until there’s a personal revolution, on an individual level. It’s got to happen inside first.”

~Jim Morrison

Leave a Reply

