Put In My Place

A couple of days ago our little guy was playing on the living room floor, and I heard him ask, quietly, “Who put the fish in the water?”  He quickly answered his own question. “God did.”

Of course, I was excited that he had heard, learned, and could repeat this important truth!  I didn’t want to let the moment pass, so I asked if he would like to hear the story about God making the fish, and everything else. Without waiting for an answer, I grabbed my phone, opened up my Bible app and went to Genesis 1.  I read from the New Century Version while he continued to play on the floor.  I nearly made it to the end of the chapter before he left the room.

Later in the day, I was thinking about my devotional time, and thinking about what I wanted to read, when it hit me.  My reading was done, and God was telling me exactly what He wanted me to know.  One word jumped out at me.

Put.

Let me share what I was remembering, in context.

14 Then God said, “Let there be lights in the sky to separate day from night. These lights will be used for signs, seasons, days, and years. 15 They will be in the sky to give light to the earth.” And it happened.

16 So God made the two large lights. He made the brighter light to rule the day and made the smaller light to rule the night. He also made the stars. 17 God put all these in the sky to shine on the earth,18 to rule over the day and over the night, and to separate the light from the darkness. God saw that all these things were good.

So to this point, God has created darkness and light, air and water, earth and seas, all kinds of plants, and now day and night.

Did you see it, though?  God made two large lights, plus all of the stars, and He placed them in a specific place to do a specific job.  One big light for the day, and one for the night.  Lights to help separate the seasons.  Lights to give us signs.  To separate days.  To tell time.

Isn’t that what He’s done with us??   We’ve all been put in a specific place to do a specific job, and most importantly to shine!

The God of all creation created ME, and put me in THIS place, for THIS job! (verses 26-27) And he said that it is GOOD!  (Verse 31)

And oh, how I’ve needed to cling to this idea this week!  Read what is described in Revelation 4.  The elders lay down their crowns, praising the Lord and saying this:

“You are worthy, our Lord and God,
to receive glory and honor and power,
because you made all things.
Everything existed and was made,
because you wanted it.”  Revelation 4:11 (NCV)

We were made by God, and put into place, because He wanted us!   WOW!!

Thank you, Lord, for the assurance that You know where e are in the midst of our busy lives, and that you are in control of all that happens in our days and our nights  Thank you for the reminder that you not only created us, but you put us in this place, to do this job.  Help us to be content, and to embrace each season of life as a gift from You.  May we reflect Your love in each interaction we have, and may we honor You in the work You have for us.  You are worthy, and we praise you.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

