Pantry Meatballs—Almost

Over the weekend hubby and I talked about spaghetti and meatballs.  It was a fleeting conversation, really, but thoughts of Italian meatballs lingered in my mind.  I have made meatballs in the past, but not recently, and my tried-and-true recipe is long lost.

I intended to go to the bank today and cash a check, and head to the grocery store.  I didn’t have any thawed meat for dinner, and I didn’t have anything that could be thawed and prepared quickly.  I had tuna, but hubby doesn’t eat it.  As my sister and I pulled up to the bank, she said, “It doesn’t even look open.”  Of course it wasn’t open!  Today is Columbus day!  Without cashing that check, I headed to the store with just a few dollars in my pocket.  

It didn’t take me long to decide on meatballs for dinner.  Sauce can be purchased for a small amount of money.  Ground meat isn’t too expensive.  I had pasta and Italian bread at home already.  I rounded out my grocery cart with a bag of salad for 99¢ and we headed to the house.

The meatballs I ended up with were simple, made from ingredients I always have in the house, with the exception of ground pork.  Since ground beef wasn’t on sale this week, the pork actually was a few cents cheaper, and it made the meatballs taste SO good.  I don’t claim to have the best meatball recipe in the world, but I made my family happy with this concoction, and I want to write it down for later use.

Almost Pantry Meatballs

 

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup grated parmesean cheese
  • 3 Tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 3-4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 jars prepared pasta sauce
  1. Mix all ingredients, except sauce, in a mixing bowl,  just until combined.  Don’t over mix.  
  2. Form meat into 1 1/2″ balls  and place in skillet.
  3. Pan fry in large skillet for 6-8 minutes, turning frequently, or until done.
  4. Once meatballs are cooked through, drain any excess grease and add sauce to the pan.
  5. Simmer meatballs in sauce while pasta cooks.

This recipe easily fed my hungry family of seven.  I used a large, rectangular electric skillet and it was full.  We didn’t think to count the number of meatballs, though!

One comment

  1. I love simple meatball recipes too especially if I can use ingredients already at home. Plus I love to grill them as opposed to frying making it healthier 🙂

Leave a Reply

