Chicken Spinach Tortellini Soup

****{EDIT}**** After I published this blog post, I realized I had already shared that Chicken and Rice Soup recipe!  D’oh!!  So, in it’s place, I have added Chicken Spinach Tortellini Soup….Sorry!!

Here we are, at the beginning of 2014. It’s a lazy day here at our house. My oldest spent the night with friends after a New Year’s Eve party last night, and the other two teenagers slept in after a party with the church youth group last night. Husband had to get up and be at work by 6:00 this morning, but he was able to come home before working a full three hours!

So far this morning I’ve almost caught up on my dishes (don’t ask how many there were…I’ll never admit to the truth.), I’ve put chicken breasts in the Crock-Pot with some veggies to cook, I’ve made breakfast and lunch, and tossed a dump cake into the oven for dessert tonight.

After a couple of really nice weather days, we’re expecting a little snow this evening. I’m hoping there will be enough for our little guy to play in again. Snow over winter break is awesome! You have plenty of time to play in it, and you don’t have to “get out and go” in it–perfection!

Because I had some bone-in chicken breasts to use up, and because it’s beginning to look and feel like winter again today, I’m planning soup for dinner. Here’s a yummy recipe that I happened upon a couple of weeks ago. I had chicken and veggies, and was looking for a way to use rice, which ties with pasta for hubby’s favorite starch.  We loved this recipe, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand.  Just thinking about this recipe has me ready for dinner!  Just a few more hours….  🙂

Happy New Year!

Here, instead, is another delicious recipe that we enjoyed.  I made this recipe after finding mini spinach mushroom ravioli marked down at our local Aldi store, and I served it with Panera’s tomato basil bread.  YUM!

Chicken Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe–from About.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onions
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 6 cups chicken broth, canned or homemade (see Note)
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, cut into 1-inch cubes (rotisserie chicken from the market or leftover homemade)
  • 1 pound baby spinach, stems trimmed and larger leaves torn in half
  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced or 1 medium can diced peeled tomatoes
  • 1/2 pound pre-made cheese tortellini (from the market refrigerator case or freezer)
  • Grated Parmesan cheese for garnish, optional

Preparation:

Heat a large stockpot over medium-low heat. Add olive oil and onions. Saute, stirring often, until onions are softened and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and stir-fry another 2 minutes.

Add chicken broth, poultry seasoning, and pepper to the pot. Bring to a low boil. Reduce heat, add tortellini, and simmer until cooked through, about 10 minutes. Stir in cookedchicken, spinach, and tomatoes. Cook an additional 5 minutes, gently stirring occasionally, until spinach is limp but still nicely green.

Garnish with Parmesan cheese, if desired. Serve soup hot with crusty bread and a fresh green salad for a complete meal.

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

Leave a Reply

