This Is How…

I really enjoy sitting down to dinner and adding up the cost of the meal.  It’s a little game I play with myself sometimes….how cheap can I make dinner?

Last night was interesting.  I had taken out some chicken breasts for dinner, but they were still frozen solid when it was time to make dinner.  With my hubby missing a lot of work lately, a trip through the drive-thru or a call to the pizza joint wasn’t an option, so I had to start thinking.  I had some pepperoni that I bought with a coupon, and that was about it.

I still had to send hubby to the grocery store, but there wasn’t much I could make without some kind of purchase.  Believe me when I say it’s bare bones around this place!  I had him pick up cheese and canned spaghetti sauce, which I don’t like, but it’s cheap!  With my daughter’s help, we made pepperoni sandwiches.  I thought I’d share the cost break down with you.

Bolillo Rolls, 2 packages of 4 (I brought these home from our church food pantry at the end of the day…we did not have room in our freezer to store them, so they technically were free.)

FREE

Mozzarella Cheese, 16 oz. On sale, 3/$10

3.33

Pepperoni, 4 packages, 3.5 oz each Normally $1 each, coupons for $1 off 2 make them .50 each

2.00

Canned Spaghetti Sauce Normally 1.00 each, store coupon gave .50 off 3. Will use the remaining 2 with pasta and ground beef we already have.

.83

TOTAL:  

6.16

With these ingredients, we made 6 large sandwiches, and had some ingredients left.  I could take the cheese and sauce that were left and put them with chicken breasts or frozen, breaded chicken patties for another quick sandwich if I wanted to get another meal out of the leftovers without spending a lot more money.  Very few things go to waste in my kitchen!  If I had gotten an earlier start, I would have sauteed onions and peppers for those of us that wanted them, but I didn’t.

So there you have it…what frugal, poor, couponing moms make for dinner.  🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

