Scandalous, Uncomfortable, and Appalling

Christians- we don’t get to look at any human and declare them “garbage” or even “other”- we don’t get to rejoice that “they’re gonna die!” Not EVER. We gave that up when we accepted grace from Jesus.

Every single person you lay eyes upon is someone for whom Christ died. We did not earn it. It was GIVEN. That is GRACE: scandalous, uncomfortable, and in some applications, dare I say, appalling? But that is our truth. That is what we have signed up for. And therefore we no longer have the option of treating or even SPEAKING of any person as anything other than precious and loved. No exceptions.

These words were written by a friend on Facebook tonight.  I read them a four times.  My first response was, “YES!”.  The second time I thought, “Wow.  I have some work to do.”.  The third time I read them aloud, sharing with my husband.  The fourth time, I cried.

See, I feel challenged.  I have a long ways to go still.  It’s been a long, long time since I was excited by anyone’s potential death.  In fact, I’m not sure that’s ever happened.  But lately I’ve had some less than kind thoughts about others.  I’ve said a thing or two that that was unkind, and I’ve said it behind backs and with malice, too.

I’ve been hurt.  I’m literally the walking wounded.  You see, someone told me, by their actions, that I’m not worthy and that I don’t matter.  It’s been a few years since I felt so insignificant and unappreciated, and it has brought up all kinds of old emotions.  I’m angry.  I’m sad.  My self-confidence has been shaken, and my self-worth reflects their message:  I am not good enough or worth it.  The walls to my sanctuary, my church, are crumbling.  My foundation feels shaky.

And now I’m reminded of who am I am, and that nobody has the right to say those things to me.  But more importantly, I don’t have the right to say those things about them.

Grace.  Scandalous.  Uncomfortable.  Appalling.

The Litany of Humility

O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, Hear me.

From the desire of being esteemed,  Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being loved, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being extolled, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being honored, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being praised, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being preferred to others, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being consulted, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the desire of being approved, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being humiliated, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being despised, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of suffering rebukes, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being calumniated, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being forgotten, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being ridiculed, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being wronged, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.
From the fear of being suspected, 
Deliver me, O Jesus.

That others may be loved more than I,  Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be esteemed more than I, 
J
esus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That, in the opinion of the world, others may increase and I may decrease,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be chosen and I set aside,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be praised and I go unnoticed,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be preferred to me in everything, J
esus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may become holier than I, provided that I may become as holy as I should,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.

One comment

  1. Oh Valerie. This is one of my favorite writings EVER. You are absolutely beautiful in your spirit. You made me cry with your words. And I hope you don’t mind that I share this post with MANY. This needs to be shared…

Leave a Reply

